social icons

Inspection Services

Directorate Inspection Services

 About Us

AIM:       

To ensure compliance with agricultural legislations and risk management of agricultural products

Functions

  • Render risk management inspection/auditing services at official ports of entry points
  • Render national plant risk management inspection/auditing services
  • Provide national plant quarantine and diagnostic services
  • Render animal quarantine and inspection services

Strategic Objective: Effective management of biosecurity and related sector risks

Performance indicator:

Number of regulatory compliance and monitoring interventions

(Quarantine, Inspection, Surveillance, Testing) implemented to prevent plant and animal pest and disease outbreaks

Purpose:

Inspection and Quarantine Services:

Focuses on the provision of leadership; guidance; support in ensuring compliance with agricultural legislation and regulatory frameworks. To overseeing the effective implementation of risk management strategies and plans for regulated agricultural products.

Contact: 

Director: Inspection Services
K.E. Phoku
(012) 309 8701

ErnestP@daff.gov.za
Enquiries.DIS@daff.gov.za

Directorate Inspection Services

Contact us

Head Office( Pretoria)

 

140 Hamilton Street ; Corner Hamilton and Hamilton Avenue ; Arcadia

Office

Telephone

Email

Director

Mr. Ernest Phoku

 

Ms Daleen Spies( Personal Assistant)

 

+27 12309 8701

 

+27 12309 8701

 

ErnestP@daff.gov.za

or

DaleenS@daff.gov.za

Deputy Director : Air & Sea Port

Mr. Gilbert Mediroe

+27 12 309 8740

GilbertM@daff.gov.za

 

Deputy Director : Land Port

Mr. Edward Maisha

+27 12 309 8778

MaishaE@daff.gov.za

 

Acting Deputy Director: NPPPIS

Mr. Gilbert Mediroe

+27 12 309 8740

GilbertM@daff.gov.za

Deputy Director: AQIS

Dr Tiroyamodimo Modungwa

+27 12 309 8800

TiroMo@daff.gov.za

 

Manager: TTAI Unit

Mr. Gilbert Mediroe

+27 12309 8740

GilbertM@daff.gov.za

 

Assistant Director: Management Support

Ms Marinda Nell

+27 12 309 8762

MarindaN@daff.gov.za

 

Helpdesk

+27 12 309

Enquiries.DIS@daff.gov.za

 

 

Regions

 

Telephone

Email

KwaZulu Natal

John Ross Building

19-20 Floor

23/35 Margaret Mncadi Road

Victoria Embankment

Durban

Regional Manager:

Kuben Naidoo

 

 

Admin: Ms Chantelle Ramsein

 

+27 31368 8501

 

 

+27 31368 8508

 

KubenN@daff.gov.za

 

 

 

ChantelleR@daff.gov.za

 

Gauteng

14th Floor Trust Bank Building

Corner Worf and Voortrekker

Kempton Park

 

Regional Manager:

Ms Joey Coetzee

 

 

Admin: Ms Phindile Mashau

 

+27 11971 5106

 

 

+27 11971 5120

 

JoeyC@daff.gov.za

 

 

PhindileM@daff.gov.za

Eastern Cape

54 Patterson Road

North End

Port Elizabeth

Regional Manager:

Mr. Preggy Pillay

 

 

Admin: Ms Melanie Barnado

 

+27 41 407-4019

 

 

+27 41407 4006

 

PreggyP@daff.gov.za

 

 

MelanieB@daff.gov.za

Western Cape

Plant Quarantine Station

Polkadraai Avenue

Stellenbosch

Regional Manager:

Mr. Gcobani Tsako

 

 

Admin: Ms Bahia Appolis

 

+27 21809 1662

 

 

+27 21809 0213

 

GcobaniT@daff.gov.za

 

 

BahiaA@daff.gov.za

AIR PORTS

 

 

 

OR Tambo International Airport

Perishable Cargo Triangle

Manager

Mr. Lawrence Mochena

+27 11390 7065

LawrenceMO@daff.gov.za

 

Cape Town International Airport

Customs house; Agent road

Airport Industrial

Head of Office:

Mr. Nyameko Mzinzi

 

+27 21934 6824

 

NyamekoM@daff.gov.za

 

King Shaka International Airport

 

Head of Office

Mr. Henry Mavimbela

 

+ 27 31 368 8501/

+27 32 436 2701

 

HenryM@daff.gov.za

Lanseria Airport

 

Head of Office:

Mr. Thys Louw

 

+27 11 701 2579

 

ThysL@daff.gov.za

SEA PORTS

 

 

 

Cape Town

Customs House Building

5th Floor

Lower Heerengracht Street

Foreshore

Manager:

Mr. Bulelani Mgcoyi

 

+27 21431 7402

 

BulelaniM@daff.gov.za

 

Durban

John Ross Building

19-20 Floor

23/35 Margaret Mncadi Road

Victoria Embankment

Durban

Head of Office:

Mr. Oupa Tshabalala

 

+27 31368 8521

 

OupaT@daff.gov.za

 

Port Elizabeth

54 Patterson Road

North End

Port Elizabeth

Head of Office:

Mr. Mpumzi Mayekiso

 

+27 41407 4009

 

MpumziM@daff.gov.za

 

Dry Port

Perishable Cargo Triangle

Head of Office:

Mr. Joseph Shai

 

+27 11390 7512

 

JosephSh@daff.gov.za

LAND PORTS EAST

Manager

Mr. Ndivhuho Luvhimbi

 

+27 12309 8737

 

LuvhimbiN@daff.gov.za

Beitbridge

Head of Office:

Ms Ndanga Netshiavha

 

+27 15530 9000

 

NdangaN@daff.gov.za

Groblersburg

Head of Office:

Mr. Kolobe Masekwameng

 

+ 27 14767 2921

 

KolobeM@daff.gov.za

Pontdrift

Head of Office:

Mr. Gezani Mabunda

 

+ 27 15575 1664

 

GezaniM@daff.gov.za

Lebombo

Head of Office:

Mr. Elliot Munaka

 

+ 27 13793 0300

 

ElliotM@daff.gov.za

Mananga

Head of Office:

Ms Portia Mhlongo

 

+27 13782 4009

 

PortiaMo@daff.gov.za

Jeppe’s Reef

Head of Office:

Ms Ndanga Netshiavha

Ms Jeaneth Bahula

+27 13 7810 295

 

NdangaN@daff.gov.za

JeanethB@daff.gov.za

 

Oshoek

Head of Office:

Mr. Smarty Mbongwe

 

+27 17882 1920

 

SmartyM@daff.gov.za

Mahamba

Head of Office:

Ms Samukelisiwe Nsele

 

+27 17826 0429

 

SamukelisiweN@daff.gov.za

Kosi Bay

Head of Office:

Mr. Sphumelele Mpanza

 

+27 35592 8003

 

SphumeleleM@daff.gov.za

Golela

Head of Office:

Mr. Aaron Coka

 

+ 27 34435 7200

 

AaronC@daff.gov.za

LAND PORT WEST

Manager

Ms. Lee- Ann Moodley

 

+ 27 12309 8736

 

Lee-annM@daff.gov.za

Ramatlabama

Head of Office:

Mr. Moagi Goilwang

 

+ 27 18393 0240

 

MoagiM@daff.gov.za

Skilpadshek

Head of Office:

Mr. Doctor Silolo

 

+ 27 18365 1007

 

SiloloMDA@daff.gov.za

Kopfontein

Head of Office:

Mr. Jacob Moatshe

 

+ 27 18365 1211

 

MoatsheRTJ@daff.gov.za

Vioolsdrift

Head of Office:

Ms Reynette Cloete

 

+ 27 27761 1060

 

ReynetteC@daff.gov.za

Maseru

Head of Office:

Ms Talita Mvunelo

 

+27 51924 4031

 

TalitaM@daff.gov.za

Nakop

Head of Office:

Mr. Vuyani Jacobs

 

+27 54571 0001

 

VuyaniJ@daff.gov.za

Plant Quarantine and Diagnostic Services

 

 

 

Plant Quarantine Station

Polkadraai Avenue

Stellenbosch

Deputy Director: PQDS

Mr. Nolan Africander

 

+ 27 21809 1625

 

 

Plant Quarantine Station

Polkadraai Avenue

Stellenbosch

Manager :Diagnostic Services

Ms Melanie Arendse

 

+27 21809 1605

 

MelanieAr@daff.gov.za

 

Plant Quarantine Station

Polkadraai Avenue

Stellenbosch

Manager : Plant Quarantine

Mr. Theo Pongolo

 

+27 21809 1604

 

TheoP@daff.gov.za

 

Plant Quarantine Station

Polkadraai Avenue

Stellenbosch

Campus Manager:

Ms Zodwa Tokwe

 

 

+ 27 21809 1609

 

ZodwaT@daff.gov.za

ANIMAL QUARANTINE AND INSPECTION SERVICES

Deputy Director: AQIS

Dr. Tiroyamodimo Modungwa

 

+27 12 309 8800

 

TiroMo@daff.gov.za

Port Elizabeth Harbour

30 Pearson Street

Central

Manager: PE Harbour

Dr. Ian Burnand

 

+27585 8907

 

IanB@daff.gov.za

 

Cape Town Harbour

Customs House

Foreshore Street

Manager: Cape Town Harbour

Dr. Niek Naude

 

 

+ 27421 0270

 

 

NiekN@daff.gov.za

 

Cape Town Quarantine

Milnerton Quarantine Station

Manager :

Dr. Donnia Olivier

 

+27 21 551-2050

 

DonniaO@daff.gov.za

 

 

 

Durban Quarantine

John Ross Building

21 Floor

23/35 Margaret Mncadi Road

Victoria Embankment

Durban

Manager :Durban

Dr. Trishanta Pillay

 

+ 27 31368 8564

TrishantaP@daff.gov.za

 

City Deep Quarantine

City Deep Abattoir

Merino Avenue

Manager : City Deep

Dr. Maleho Machedi

 

+27 11613 1636

 

MalehoMachedi@daff.gov.za

 

Kempton Park Quarantine

Quarantine Station

Kempton Park

Manager: Kempton Park

Dr. Romona Naidoo

 

+27 11393 7983

 

RomonaN@daff.gov.za

 

 


Useful links

DAFF LINKS

1.      https://www.ippc.int/

2.      https://www.ippc.int/en/core-activities/standards-setting/ispms/

3.      https://www.wto.org/

4.      www.oie.int/

5.      ppecb.com/

6.      www.citrusres.com/

7.      www.cga.co.za/

8.      www.arc.agric.za/

9.      www.dti.gov.za › Trade, Exports & Investment

10.   www.sars.gov.za/ClientSegments/Customs-Excise/AboutCustoms/Imports

11.   www.sars.gov.za/ClientSegments/Customs.../Prohibited-and-Restricted-goods.aspx

12.   https://www.ista.org/

13.   www.seedtest.org/

14.   sansor.org/

15.   www.fao.org/fao-who-codexalimentarius/en/

16.   www.fao.org/home/en/

17.   www.grainsa.co.za/

18.   www.potatoes.co.za/

19.   www.fruitsa.co.za/

20.   www.satgi.co.za

21.   fpefsa.co.za/

22.   www.hortgro.co.za/

23.   www.subtrop.co.za/

24.   www.samac.org.za/

25.   https://www.environment.gov.za/

26.   www.dawineonline.co.za/

 

POLICY DIRECTORATE

Directorate Plant Health

Directorate Plant Production

Directorate Animal Health

Directorate Agricultural Inputs Control

Directorate Genetic Resources

Directorate Inspection Services: Tariffs as per the departments tariff book

 Plant Health

12.1   AGRICULTURAL PESTS ACT, 1983 (Act No. 36 of 183)

12.1.1 Import Control  : During official working hours R189.00 for 30minutes or portion          thereof

                              Outside official office hours

                                          Laboratory tests
Transfer PP for Tariff

 Banking Details
Stellenbosch

Name of account         : Stellenbosch debt dep

Bank                            : Standard bank

Branch                        : Arcadia

Branch code               : 010845

Account number         : 011205164

Reference                   : your account number and/company name

Gauteng

Account Name             : Daff Gauteng Inspection Services

Bank                            : Standard Bank

Branch                        : Arcadia

Account Number         :  010124403

Reference                   : your account number and/company name

Publications

News letter

Continuously update when there’s new information

Notification

Announcements i.e. Upcoming events, achievements etc.